5 replies to this topic

#1 jason

jason

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 21 August 2005 - 01:05 PM

i am a set designer for a haunted house attraction and i was looking for tips of any that would help with my designing a staind glass look on a piece of clear plexi glass.

thanks
jason
www.ussnightmare.com

#2 Chantal

Chantal

Prophet

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,770 posts
  • Interests:Orchids, gardening, badminton, drawing stained glass patterns, bird feeding, webmastering.

Posted 21 August 2005 - 03:36 PM

I think the trick would be to find a way to give your surface some textures.

You can find some examples here:

Spectrum Glass Stock List

The have Waterglass, crackle glass, artiqque, and baroque.

Also, try not to use a flat color, but mix in similar tints.

#3 malkore

malkore

Homeowner

• Glasser
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts

Posted 22 August 2005 - 08:48 AM

I've done this before. Head to a craft store, and look for something called Gallery Glass. Its basically a thick kind of paint that dries into a flexible plastic. They make 'liquid lead' that you use first to draw the lead came onto the plexi. After that dries you just fill in with the colors. You can make textures using toothpicks to draw wavy patterns. You can also marbelize using 2-3 colors and a toothpick to swirl them.

Here's the website from the manufacturer: http://www.plaidonline.com/apGG.asp

Its pretty easy stuff to work with. YOu can remove it afterwards with a razor blade. On glass, it would peel off, but on plexi, it bond a little more thoroughly to the pourous surface of the plastic.

#4 Dennis Brady

Dennis Brady

Curmudgeon

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,081 posts

Posted 22 August 2005 - 10:35 AM