5 replies to this topic

#1 Jamie

Jamie

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 September 2009 - 01:24 PM

I'm a beginner at stained glass, but I'm hoping to make a light for my husband's pool table. I've done a few projects so far that have turned out well, but my question is - How do I have to frame such a long project? Rough dimensions are 60" long x 18" high x 18" wide. I've seen some retail lamps that are framed with metal angle-iron, some with wood frames, and some that look like they have no frame at all. My first choice would be no frame, then metal, last choice would be wood unless it's just a LOT less hassle.
I plan on making 4 panels (it will be a rectangle light, not oval), but I'm looking for suggestions on how to put them together at the corners. Is reinforcement needed?
Here's a link to a lights I'm using as inspiration. The pattern will be different (I'm putting our last name instead of 'billilards' and scattering the balls around, etc.) but you get the idea.
http://www.rockwellb...FL460EBANT2.jpg
http://www.billiards...ht-2-detail.jpg

Thanks for any advice or links to needed products,
Jamie

#2 Dennis Brady

Dennis Brady

Curmudgeon

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,081 posts

Posted 08 September 2009 - 03:24 PM

I'm a beginner at stained glass, but I'm hoping to make a light for my husband's pool table. I've done a few projects so far that have turned out well, but my question is - How do I have to frame such a long project? Rough dimensions are 60" long x 18" high x 18" wide. I've seen some retail lamps that are framed with metal angle-iron, some with wood frames, and some that look like they have no frame at all. My first choice would be no frame, then metal, last choice would be wood unless it's just a LOT less hassle.
I plan on making 4 panels (it will be a rectangle light, not oval), but I'm looking for suggestions on how to put them together at the corners. Is reinforcement needed?