Photo

Difference Between Plumber's Solder And Stained Glass Solder?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Gigi

Gigi

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Interests:Gardening, Stained Glass, Exercise, Home Improvements!

Posted 07 April 2010 - 02:19 PM

I've just inherited about 50 rolls of solder from my Dad's stained glass hobby. He was a pipefitter by trade so there's a lot of plumber's solder here as well as MANY other different types. My question, can I use this or any type of solder for my stained glass art projects or can I ONLY use solder marked specifically for stained glass? Many thanks - love this website.

Gigi

#2 Chantal

Chantal

Prophet

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,770 posts
  • Interests:Orchids, gardening, badminton, drawing stained glass patterns, bird feeding, webmastering.

Posted 07 April 2010 - 07:27 PM

You shouldn't use rosin-core solder.

Is that plumber's solder 60-40?

#3 Gigi

Gigi

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 07 April 2010 - 08:12 PM

You shouldn't use rosin-core solder.

Is that plumber's solder 60-40?

#4 Gigi

Gigi

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 07 April 2010 - 08:15 PM

Thanks for your reply! None of it says rosin core solder. Most of it says solid wire solder, 40/60, 50/50, 60/40. Does it have to say stained glass solder on the label?

Gigi

#5 Boris_USA

Boris_USA

Lampman

• Assistant Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,127 posts
  • Interests:Way too Many...

Posted 07 April 2010 - 10:36 PM

Thanks for your reply! None of it says rosin core solder. Most of it says solid wire solder, 40/60, 50/50, 60/40. Does it have to say stained glass solder on the label?

Gigi