#1 Josie58

Josie58

New Neighbour

• Glasser
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Interests:Hobby farming, stain glass, gardening, reading

Posted 19 September 2010 - 09:09 PM

OK I've been working with glass off and on for several years and I still end up with probably unacceptablely large gaps between the glass pieces. I use illustrator for my patterns and I set the line weigth for 2.5 pt for a foil design (1 pt =.3528mm foil is .8mm?). It seems that no matter how careful I am I still end up with gaps in the seams between the pieces of glass. I cut patterns using foil shears on card stock I trace with a sharpie and usually cut to the inside or the middle of the trace line. I normally cut all pieces and then grind. I've tried grinding matching the pieces rather than the pattern and I've tried grinding so the glass fits inside the lines on the pattern. Many times it looks like a snug match on the seam but when I go to foil I end up with about 50% of the pieces with large gaps. The latest piece I folded foil and placed in the seam gaps to hold the solder but that isn't a solution. I am concerned that my recent piece won't have the strength to support itself. Its an 18 inch circle. I put copper renforcing strip around the outside and it will be in an oak frame.

Help! do I just need more practice? looking for suggestions from the experts.

#2 Tod Beall

Tod Beall

Franchise Owner

• Glasser
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,052 posts
  • Interests:Mostly flat glass. I started with sg over 30 years ago. I also collect books about sg.

Posted 20 September 2010 - 09:14 AM

Josie58:
I love that you're such a perfectionist! I'm wondering what you consider "large gaps", though.

In my view, one must have confidence that the piece will hold together, first and foremost. Next, the composition must meet your expectations.