11 replies to this topic

#1 TamiB

TamiB

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 05:26 PM

Looking for words of wisdom. My grinder (Inland wizling, brand new) is chewing up my glass (a variety of glass from a Spectrum rack pack I purchased to experiment with). Being that I am new to all this I am pretty sure it's me and not the grinder. I have tried a lighter touch but that doesn't seem to make much difference. I've adjusted the bit a hair and tried three different types of glass, the damage is happening on the bottom side and the chips coming off seem quite large. The "finished" pieces look like crap, all ragged. Help!!

Also I purchased some agate online thinking I was getting whole pieces but alas! (live and learn) I received all shards. Not a whole one in the lot, but I think I can use some of it. Question is...can I grind down the edges where it is broken? It's quite rough I don't want to wreck my grinder bit.

And one more, cuz good things always come in 3's. I have read to give globs and nuggets a quick grind before foiling and I have read not to. Advice?? Thanks in advance. Tami

#2 Rebecca

Rebecca

Chocolatier

• Glasser
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,933 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 05:43 PM

Your grinder might not be turning true. Look at the top of the shaft when it is turning and see if it looks "fuzzy" or wobbly. If it does, you might need to send it back to the company.

Yes, you can grind agates.

No, don't grind globs before foiling. Sometimes they need to be washed, but the adhesive on foil sticks better to a smooth surface than to a ground surface.

Rebecca

#3 Stephen Richard

Stephen Richard

Real Estate Agent

• Glasser
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 576 posts
  • Interests:Leaded and stained glass, kiln forming, sandblasting, acid etching, restoration

Posted 23 April 2011 - 03:04 AM

Another thing I have seen suggested is to grind some scrap glass to reduce the" harshness" of the new grinding bit.