5 replies to this topic

#1 Golf Addict

Golf Addict

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 May 2016 - 05:45 PM

Hi.  I'm a green horn, newbie. Cabinet maker by trade 30 years. Making lead came SG panels for cabinet doors. So far so good, I have 2 identical panels. I've been watching videos, reading blogs, and learning every minute. I have soldered my panels and pleased with my results (not perfect, but one can only watch so many YouTube videos, should have watched one more). So now I've got flux all over the place. (not really, but you know how it goes the first time.)  Here's where YouTube and blogs give me some answers but not all. 

My goal: Black cement/putty, black patina.  I'm lost with regards to cleanliness, & time frames between steps, and don't want to rush, but don't know if I can proceed.  So I did step 1 below, and await a response to move forward.

Step 1: I made a paste of baking soda and water.  Applied with tooth brush, and then washed off with dishwash soap and warm water using scrub brush. Cleaned up ok. When held up to light, there are bits in the corners.  Q: Because I haven't puttied yet, do I need to get the glass spotless and all my corners spotless?  Or am I being meticulous for no reason, just to get dirty again?

Step 2: is Puttying. I'm using Studio Pro Black Cement (from Delphi)  Q: Since I've washed panels with warm water, I've drained them &  towel dried them, do I need to wait a day or two to allow any water in my came channel to evaporate?  Or will moisture affect the putty, causing problems?  A little bit of water/moisture ok? Putty contains linseed OIL...and we all know water and oil don't mix, so I lean towards evaporation...but no where does anyone say wait! Or...Don't wash with water, stupid step! Buy Flux remover cleaner & move on! (I need that kind of direction)