5 replies to this topic

#1 Michael

Michael

New Neighbour

• Glasser
  • PipPip
  • 39 posts

Posted 14 September 2016 - 08:45 PM

I guess it was just one of those nights, I broke quite a few pieces tonight. I am still learning so any suggestions is appreciated. The first couple I broke were to 1x10 strip in a row and it ran off right as it got to second piece. Should I not try to go 20 inches with one cut. The happen twice but the other set wasn't that long. So I went to get the giant piece 32x32 to cut a twelve inch strip off of it to make up for the glass that broke. I scored it and slide it to the edge of table to break off and it splits off near the middle leaving me holding a piece in each hand.....urggggggggg. Quit for the night and hope it will be better tomorrow.

#2 Tod Beall

Tod Beall

Daily Mirror Owner

• Glasser
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,632 posts
  • Interests:Mostly flat glass. I started with sg over 30 years ago. I also collect books about sg. Please visit Beall Glass Studio on Face Book.

Posted 15 September 2016 - 08:04 AM

We all have those nights; have faith that you'll do better next time. ;- )

A 20" strip 1" wide can be difficult to break, especially if the rest of the sheet is comparatively wide. It's generally easier to divide long pieces in half - more or less. That's not always practical, of course. This is a time for good running pliers and a gentle touch.

My suspicions are: you're pressing too hard on the cutter and/or you're not running the wheel properly along the straight-edge. I mean that it's not rolling parallel to the guide, that it may be slightly cocked.

When breaking that 12" piece off the 32" square, you might consider beginning the run at each end with running pliers before you bring it to the edge to snap.

Be careful, too. And remember to have fun!

#3 Mt_Top

Mt_Top

Homeowner

• Glasser
  • PipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Interests:Recumbent trikes, lamps, tinkering around homebase.

Posted 15 September 2016 - 08:44 AM