3 replies to this topic

#1 Spiff

Spiff

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 March 2017 - 09:53 PM

I’m finally taking a crack at the Odyssey 18” flowering lotus (T344).  As we know, this beast has 1,792 pieces, and will take hours off my life.  I built the 10” Worden system wisteria previously, so I have some experience.

I have some questions that I’d like to toss out to the pros here.

1. I have to use tacky wax, but I’m concerned that I’m never getting this off the mold.  That will be a lot of wax.  Any concerns on that?  Is there a good alternative?  I could do 4-5 inches down and then tack it and then cut them and tack another 4-5.

2.  I usually attach the pieces to the mold as I cut them, but I’ve been told by some not to do that.  I hate to cut all the pieces and then put them on the mold, only to find they were a bit too big or a bit too small.

3.  Any other concerns with a project of this size?

Thanks a real lot and I’m glad I found this site either way!  Spiff

Attached Files

#2 WayneFL

WayneFL

Homeowner

• Glasser
  • PipPipPip
  • 63 posts

Posted 09 March 2017 - 05:59 AM

I use a smaller than pea size piece of tacky wax on each piece.   Removing the shade is always a concern for the first few you may do.   I use a two stage heating process to make the job easier.   I first heat the inside of the shade as evenly as possible to get the fiberglass warm to the touch.   Let it sit for a couple minutes and then heat the outside of the shade evenly.   For the inside heating, I use either a hot air popcorn popper or a heat gun.    While the outside is heated using either a heat gun or a hair dryer.