5 replies to this topic

#1 Glass guy

Glass guy

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 25 December 2017 - 10:36 AM

Hi Im new hear and self taught. I guess this is where I post this? This is a gift I made but wanted any comments on things I should do better
Merry Christmas to all
https://s14.postimg....4_E0804_E64.png

#2 John

John

Homeowner

• Glasser
  • PipPipPip
  • 195 posts

Posted 25 December 2017 - 05:27 PM

Merry Christmas to You!

The foil looks like it need to be burnished better.  I am seeing lots of peaks in the foil. Wrinkles are expected but not peaks.  The foil needs to be tight to the glass every where.

Great start!

#3 Fox

Fox

Homeowner

• Glasser
  • PipPipPip
  • 124 posts

Posted 25 December 2017 - 07:51 PM

A nice pattern, but it's about  halfway there as far as the leading is concerned. It should have a nice rounded bead and definitely needs one along the edge. Getting this done so it looks smooth is a skill you develop over time, whatever particular iron or heat setting you're using: definitely a matter of feel and nothing you want to rush. Be generous with the flux and though many people find that 60/40 solder flows more smoothly, I feel that 50/50 stands up to more reworking.

#4 Glass guy

Glass guy

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 25 December 2017 - 08:40 PM

Thanks
I’m getting there
https://s14.postimg....55_FC4935_D.png

#5 Boris_USA

Boris_USA

Lampman

• Assistant Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,587 posts
  • Interests:Way too Many...

Posted 28 December 2017 - 03:32 PM

Looks pretty good. Like John said, the foil needs to be rubbed down better. I just use a sharpie pen and it does a good job. I do the edges first then the sides.

#6 John

John

Homeowner

• Glasser
  • PipPipPip
  • 195 posts

Posted 31 December 2017 - 08:15 PM