#1 sayluv

sayluv

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 10 February 2018 - 06:48 PM

Hi.

I have never done any glass work before. I would like to learn how to do this and eventually make something similar to what is in the attached picture for our skylight.

Does anyone have recommended 

1. starter kits?

2. preferred online video tutorials

3. know where I can get this glass?

https://ibb.co/nxH7qn

thanks, sl

#2 Terry_

Terry_

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 13 February 2018 - 09:46 PM

First off I have some questions for you. Do you have a shop or store nearby that has knowledgeable people on staff?  Re-reading,  obviously there's a shop near you since you ask about where to get the glass - that is part of the problem with today's e-commerce you can buy the product but there is no helpful guidance on how to use it.  Do you know how to solder?  Do you know how to cut glass?  When I started I already knew how to solder and how to cut glass, so just the vague instructions from a shop wanting to sell me supplies and my willingness to experiment was all I needed to get started.

The glass in your picture looks to be just textured clear glass and should be available or able to be ordered from a regular glass shop - a place that sells replacement glass for home windows and mirror sheets and glass for table tops.  These shops are fairly common here in the USA, but I don't know where you are.