5 replies to this topic

#1 billbris

billbris

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 April 2019 - 05:08 AM

Question: Where does on find molds (forms)?

First timer here!

After reading a number of the questions and answers on this forum, I purchased my lamp stand first.  Now I need to find the perfect shade to fit upon it.

I've seen the forms at Odyssey and Worden is out of business.  

Ideally, I would like to find a mold of my desired shape, and then a pattern to fit that shape.

However, since I have never done this before, I am looking forward to learning from all of you what is available, and what to expect.

Thank you in advance.

#2 WayneFL

WayneFL

Homeowner

• Glasser
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts

Posted 07 April 2019 - 05:13 AM

Even though Worden is out of business, some online stores still have a few of the forms.  If you are interested in that,  you have to begin searching.

Odyssey forms are usually special order items from glass stores.  To decide which sizes and shapes are available, check out the Odyssey line of forms/molds.   http://mosaicshades....2005/index.html

You say you have a stand/base already.  Note that the Odyssey system (Tiffany reproductions) does not use a base harp.  If you have one, you will have to change it to match the wheel/ring/cap system used by Odyssey.  (Worden works with harps since it promotes the use of vase caps and is more popular among the hobby crowd)

#3 billbris

billbris

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 07 April 2019 - 09:32 AM

@WayneFL, Thank you for the information.  

re Worden and Odyssey the only solutions out there?  It seems that they are the only two (now one) solution(s).  I find that odd, but as I stated, I am new here.

Thank you again,

B.

#4 WayneFL

WayneFL

Homeowner

• Glasser
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts

Posted 08 April 2019 - 05:35 AM